

Media Contact

Kathleen Rakestraw American School Counselor Association (703) 683-2722 krakestraw@schoolcounselor.org

For immediate release - March 30, 2023

American School Counselor Association Announces 2023 RAMP Schools

ALEXANDRIA, VA. – This year, 101 schools in 21 states received the Recognized ASCA Model Program (RAMP) designation. These schools will be honored during a special ceremony at the American School Counselor Association's Annual Conference for making an exemplary commitment to their school counseling programs.

The RAMP designation, awarded for aligning with the criteria in the ASCA National Model, recognizes schools committed to delivering a comprehensive, data-informed school counseling program and an exemplary educational environment. Since the program's inception, nearly 1,300 schools have been designated as RAMP recipients.

This year, Georgia leads the number of RAMP designations, with 25 schools in the state receiving the honor. Eight schools, in Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Minnesota and Texas, will receive the RAMP School of Distinction award, honoring schools with exceptionally high-caliber school counseling programs based on rankings determined by a panel of RAMP reviewers. RAMP-designated schools are now in 47 states across the country. The RAMP designation is good for five years; this year's RAMP recipients must submit a successful application by Oct. 15, 2027, to maintain their RAMP status. This year 15 schools earned Re-RAMP status.

"This year's RAMP honorees have shown their commitment to students and the school counseling profession," said Jill Cook, ASCA executive director. "These schools used data to drive their program development and implementation so all students can achieve success. RAMP designation distinguishes these schools and encourages school counselors nationwide to strive for excellence."

The 2023 RAMP schools are:

Alabama

Arab Elementary School
Baldwin County Virtual Secondary School
Belforest Elementary School
Guntersville Middle School
Huntsville Junior High School
Parkside School
Robbins Elementary School
Rock Quarry Elementary School

Alaska

Skyview Middle School (Re-RAMP)

Arkansas

Barling Elementary School Fairview Elementary School John P. Woods Elementary School William O. Darby Middle School (School of Distinction)

California

Barbara Chilton Middle School (School of Distinction)

Centennial High School

Citrus Hills Intermediate School

Corvallis Middle School STEAM Magnet

Dos Pueblos High School

Emerson Middle School

Livingston Middle School (Re-RAMP)

Lowell Elementary School

Riley College Prep Academy

Santiago K-8 Elementary School

Simons Middle School

Stella Middle Charter Academy

Colorado

Aurora Central High School Coal Ridge Middle School Sagewood Middle School (Re-RAMP)

Florida

Park Vista Community High School (School of Distinction, Re-RAMP)

Georgia

A.L. Burruss Elementary School

Archer High School

Beacon Hill Middle School

Campbell Middle School

Cooper Middle School

Douglas County High School

Dunleith Elementary School

Garrett Middle School

Glennwood Elementary School

Gwin Oaks Elementary School

Hickory Hills Elementary School

Hiram High School

J.J. Daniell Middle School (Re-RAMP)

Lithia Springs High School

M.H. Mason Elementary School (Re-RAMP)

Nebo Elementary School (School of Distinction)

Oakhurst Elementary School

Palmer Middle School (School of Distinction, Re-RAMP)

Park Street Elementary School

Red Top Middle School

Talley Street Upper Elementary School

Turner Middle School West Side Elementary School Westchester Elementary Wheeler High School

Illinois

East Leyden High School
Foreman College & Career Academy (School of Distinction, Re-RAMP)
Isabelle O'Keeffe Elementary School
Louisa May Alcott College Preparatory Elementary School
Marine Leadership Academy at Ames (Re-RAMP)
Skinner North Classical School
William H. Prescott Elementary School

Indiana

IPS|Butler University Lab School 55
Jefferson Elementary School (Re-RAMP)
Waterford Elementary School
West Goshen Elementary School
Yorktown Elementary School Yorktown
Middle School

Maine

Hall-Dale Elementary School

Maryland

Northwood High School

Minnesota

Brooklyn Middle STEAM School
Capitol Hill Gifted and Talented Magnet School (Re-RAMP)
Cretin-Derham Hall High School
Frost Lake Elementary School
Maple Grove Senior High School
Park Center Senior High: An IB World School
Saint Paul Music Academy (School of Distinction, Re-RAMP)
Woodland Elementary School

Missouri

Blair Oaks Middle School Bloomsdale Elementary School Hawthorn Elementary School John Thomas School of Discovery

Montana

Highland Elementary School

North Carolina

Huntingtowne Farms Elementary School Lake Wylie Elementary School South Academy of International Languages Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy Willow Springs Elementary School

Ohio

Cloverleaf High School

Pennsylvania

Elizabethtown Area Middle School

Tennessee

Dan Mills Elementary School (Re-RAMP) Summit High School

Texas

Canyon Vista Middle School
Captain Walter E. Clarke Middle School (School of Distinction, Re-RAMP)
James P. Butler Elementary School
Jane A. Hambric School
Sgt. Jose F. Carrasco Elementary School
Spicewood Elementary School

Virginia

Little River Elementary School (Re-RAMP) Smart's Mill Middle School

Washington

Kilo Middle School North Creek High School

RAMP applications are reviewed once a year by a panel of school counseling professionals, who assess the school counseling programs in 10 different areas of expertise. The next submission deadline is Oct. 15, 2023. For more information on the program, visit www.schoolcounselor.org/ramp

About the American School Counselor Association

The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) professional organization based in Alexandria, Va. ASCA promotes student success by expanding the image and influence of school counseling through leadership, advocacy, collaboration and systemic change. ASCA helps school counselors guide their students toward academic achievement, career planning and social/emotional development to help today's students become tomorrow's productive, contributing members of society. Founded in 1952, ASCA has a network of 51 state and territory associations and a membership of approximately 43,000 school counseling professionals. For additional information on the American School Counselor Association, visit www.schoolcounselor.org.