

Media Contact

Kathleen Rakestraw American School Counselor Association (703) 683-2722 krakestraw@schoolcounselor.org

For immediate release – April 23, 2021

American School Counselor Association Announces 2021 RAMP Schools

ALEXANDRIA, VA. – This year, 139 schools in 27 states received the Recognized ASCA Model Program (RAMP) designation. These schools will be honored during a special ceremony at the American School Counselor Association's Annual Conference for making an exemplary commitment to their school counseling programs.

The RAMP designation, awarded for aligning with the criteria in the ASCA National Model, recognizes schools committed to delivering a data-informed school counseling program and an exemplary educational environment. Since the program's inception, more than 1,100 schools have been designated as RAMP recipients.

This year, California leads the number of RAMP designations, with 22 schools in the state receiving the honor. Additionally, Delaware now has a RAMP school for the first time. Nineteen schools, in California, Georgia, Kentucky, Minnesota, Oregon, Virginia and Wisconsin, will receive the RAMP School of Distinction award, honoring schools with exceptionally high-caliber school counseling programs based on rankings determined by a panel of RAMP reviewers. RAMP-designated schools are now in 47 states across the country. The RAMP designation is good for five years, after which time schools must reapply to maintain their RAMP status. This year 26 schools earned Re-RAMP status, three of them for a fourth time.

"This year's RAMP honorees have shown their commitment to students and the school counseling profession," said Jill Cook, ASCA executive director. "These schools used data to drive their program development and implementation so all students can achieve success. RAMP designation distinguishes these schools and encourages school counselors nationwide to strive for excellence."

The 2021 RAMP schools are:

Alabama

Central Baldwin Middle School Creek View Elementary School Daphne East Elementary School Daphne Elementary School Dixie Elementary School Hayden Primary School Huffman Middle School Magnolia School Palmer Pillans Middle School Reeltown High School Scarborough Model Middle School Silverhill Elementary School Susan Moore Elementary School Trace Crossings Elementary School Vestavia Hills High School

Arizona

Dobson High School (Re-RAMP) Dr. Camille Casteel High School

California

Aliso Viejo Middle School (School of Distinction) Bella Vista Middle School Cactus Medical, Health and Technology Magnet Academy (School of Distinction) **Castille Elementary School** Cole Canyon Elementary School Esencia K-8 (School of Distinction) Frank Augustus Miller Middle School (School of Distinction) Goleta Valley Junior High School Harvest Valley Elementary School (School of Distinction) Hazelton Elementary School (School of Distinction) Heber School John H. Glenn High School (School of Distinction) Lancaster High School Lisa J. Mails Elementary School (School of Distinction) MacArthur Fundamental Intermediate School Madison Elementary School Marshall Middle School **Rio Calaveras Elementary School** Sierra High School Southeast Academy High School Vista del Mar Elementary School Yamato Colony Elementary School

Connecticut

Newington High School

Delaware

Smyrna High School

Florida

Emerald Cove Middle School (Re-RAMP)

Georgia

Alan C. Pope High School (Re-RAMP) Alexander High School (School of Distinction) Berkeley Lake Elementary School (Re-RAMP) Chapel Hill High School East Cobb Middle School Esther Jackson Elementary School (Re-RAMP) Factory Shoals Middle School King Springs Elementary School Lindley Sixth Grade Academy (School of Distinction) Lovinggood Middle School (Re-RAMP) Marietta Center for Advanced Academics (School of Distinction) Marietta Middle School McCleskey Middle School (Re-RAMP) (School of Distinction) Newnan High School Summit Hill Elementary School (Re-RAMP) Willis A. Sutton Middle School

Hawaii

Kamaile Academy Public Charter School Governor Wallace Rider Farrington High School

Illinois

Brighton Park Elementary School Crystal Lake Central High School Grayslake North High School Hamilton Elementary School Talcott Fine Arts and Museum Academy

Indiana

Cedar Hall Community School Charles N. Scott Middle School Goshen Middle School (Re-RAMP) Hobart High School North Junior High School

Iowa

Madison Elementary School (Re-RAMP)

Kentucky

Donald E. Cline Elementary School (Re-RAMP) John W. Reiley Elementary School (Re-RAMP) (School of Distinction) A.J. Lindeman Elementary School (Re-RAMP)

Maryland

Edgewood Elementary School Towson High School

Michigan

Calhoun Area Career Center (Re-RAMP)

Minnesota

Basswood Elementary Battle Creek Elementary School (School of Distinction) Bruce Vento Elementary School Eastern Heights Elementary School Fosston High School Garden City Elementary School (School of Distinction) John A. Johnson Elementary School Luverne Elementary School North View Middle School Oak View Elementary School Randolph Heights Elementary School (School of Distinction)

Missouri

Mason Elementary School Mesnier Primary School

Nevada

Lyal Burkholder Middle School (Re-RAMP)

New Jersey

West Morris Central High School

North Carolina

B. Everett Jordan Elementary SchoolDavis Drive Middle School (Re-RAMP)Mabel SchoolR. Homer Andrews Elementary School

Ohio

Ohio Virtual Academy

Oklahoma

Fairview Elementary School Will Rogers Elementary School

Oregon

Crestview Heights School (School of Distinction) Forest Grove High School Hamilton Creek School Oregon Trail Elementary School Taft Elementary School

Pennsylvania

Propel McKeesport Charter School Saucon Valley Elementary School

South Carolina

Gilbert High School West Ashley High School Woodland Elementary School (Re-RAMP)

Tennessee

Central Heights Elementary School Sycamore Elementary School

Texas

Americas High School Andrew Jackson Middle School Dr. Sue Shook Elementary School Grapevine High School Lujan-Chavez Elementary School Purple Heart Elementary School

Virginia

Carl Sandburg Middle School (Re-RAMP) Cashell Donahoe Elementary School Douglas Southall Freeman High School Elizabeth Davis Middle School Fairfax High School Forest Park High School (Re-RAMP) Freedom High School (South Riding) (Re-RAMP) Freedom High School (Woodbridge) Glasgow Middle School (Re-RAMP) Independence Nontraditional School (Re-RAMP) Kyle R. Wilson Elementary School (School of Distinction) Lake Braddock Secondary School - Middle School (Re-RAMP) McKinley Elementary School Alice West Fleet Elementary School Poe Middle School Rockledge Elementary School (Re-RAMP) Rocky Run Middle School (Re-RAMP) **Rosemont Elementary School** Thurgood Marshall Elementary School (Re-RAMP)

Wisconsin

Cedarburg High School Gifford School Gilmore Fine Arts (School of Distinction)

RAMP applications are reviewed once a year by a panel of school counseling professionals, who assess the school counseling programs in 10 different areas of expertise. The next submission deadline is Oct. 15, 2021. For more information on the program, visit www.schoolcounselor.org/ramp

###

About the American School Counselor Association

The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) professional organization based in Alexandria, Va. ASCA promotes student success by expanding the image and influence of school counseling through leadership, advocacy, collaboration and systemic change. ASCA helps school counselors guide their students toward academic achievement, career planning and social/emotional development to help today's students become tomorrow's productive, contributing members of society. Founded in 1952, ASCA has a network of 51 state and territory associations and a membership of more than 40,000 school counseling professionals. For additional information on the American School Counselor Association, visit <u>www.schoolcounselor.org</u>.